Since the early 1990’s the Loreto Congregation was involved in supporting the teaching of Theology in the Milltown Institute which was run by the Jesuits.  When the closure of Milltown seemed imminent, a decision was made by a number of congregations involved in the Milltown Trust, to support the teaching of Catholic Theology in a secular university.

Part of Loreto’s mission/charism is Care of the Faith so our congregation decided to become part of the newly formed Loyola Trust. Trinity College then invited the Loyola Trust to become part of its Confederate School of Religions, Theology and Ecumenics.  Since 2013 The Loyola Institute has been teaching Theology in the Catholic tradition in Trinity College Dublin.

The Loyola Institute is supported by the Loyola Trust, a consortium of eight religious congregations – Augustinians, Carmelite O.Carm, Columbans, Jesuits, Loreto Sisters, Marists, Oblates and SMA’s.

The central concern of the Loyola Institute is the creative intersection of theology, church and society.  The Institute is dedicated to education and research in theology in the broad Catholic tradition.

The Institute offers the following programmes:

  • BA Moderatorship in Catholic Theological Studies.  This is a four year course and can be combined with one of the following – History, Irish, Italian or Philosophy, as part of Trinity’s two subject Moderatorship Arts Degree.
  • MPhil in Christian Theology
  • Masters and Ph.D research
  • Part time courses from a variety of modules without examinations.

All courses are open to school leavers and mature students.

The Loyola Institute can be contacted as follows: